NAJA urges full reinstatement of Muscogee (Creek) free press provisions

The Native American Journalists Association (NAJA) supports the Muscogee (Creek) National Council’s passage of NCA 18-184 — a bill that would reinstate free press protections for the Muscogee (Creek) Nation.

NAJA encourages Principal Chief James Floyd to sign NCA 18-184, which was passed with a majority 9-6 vote during the regular session on Saturday, Dec. 15. Reps. Del Beaver, Patrick Freeman Jr., Randall Hicks, Robert Hufft, David Hill, Thomasene Yahola-Osborn, Mark Randolph, Rufus Scott and Travis Scott voted to uphold press freedom for the tribal media outlet.

In November, the Muscogee (Creek) National Council voted to repeal legislation designed to support and protect journalists at Mvskoke Media, a tribally-owned print, radio and television outlet. Mvskoke Media is the only outlet that is dedicated to covering the Muscogee (Creek) Nation, the fourth largest tribal nation, within what is currently the United States.

A free press is fundamental to the safety and security of tribal sovereignty and self-determination as well as a right guaranteed to Native Americans by the U.N. Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous people.

NAJA urges Muscogee (Creek) leaders to sign NCA 18-184, without amendments, and restore protections for Mvskoke Media — including the reseating of the full former editorial board.

The Indigenous Journalist Association Empowers Indigenous Voices in Journalism.
IJA © 2023 All rights reserved.