NAJA announces 2019 class of Native American Journalism Fellows

The Native American Journalists Association selects 10 fellows to attend the National Native Media Conference in September


NORMAN, Okla. – The Native American Journalists Association (NAJA) has selected six first-year and five returning fellows to join the Native American Journalism Fellowship (NAJF) class of 2019.

The students come from tribal communities and colleges across the nation and will attend the 2019 National Native Media Conference at the Mystic Lake Center in Prior Lake, Minn. The fellows will work in a newsroom with selected mentors representing broadcast, radio, print and online media.

Introducing the NAJF Class of 2019:

  • Taylor Notah, Navajo Nation, Arizona State University
  • Hunter Hotulke, Seminole Nation, Rogers State University
  • Jaida Grey Eagle, Oglala Lakota Sioux, Institute of American Indian Arts
  • Jarrette Werk, A’aaniiihnin of Fort Belknap Montana, University of Nevada Reno
  • Benjamin Yazza, Navajo Nation, University of New Mexico
  • Lyric Aquino, Tewa, Kent State University
  • Arielle Farve, Chickasaw Nation, Oklahoma State University
  • Caitlin Hunt, Lumbee, Ohio University
  • Makayla Sloan, Cherokee Nation, Haskell Indian Nations University
  • Taylar Stagner, Eastern Shoshone/Cheyenne-Arapaho, University of Wyoming
  • Miranda Stiles, Muscogee (Creek) Nation, Oklahoma State University



Fellows will participate in three webinars prior to the newsroom experience and can receive 3 hours of college credit at the undergraduate or graduate-level through their respective universities.

Learn more about the 2019 class at by clicking the “Native American Journalism Fellowship” tab under the “Students” tab.

Under the direction of co-directors Victoria LaPoe (Cherokee), Frank Robertson (Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate), and Lenzy Krehbiel-Burton (Cherokee), student fellows will work with mentors to produce coverage throughout the year. Several visiting mentors will provide specific digital skills training during the onsite newsroom experience.

  • Darren Brown, CATV47
  • Frank Blanquet, First Nations Experience
  • Allison Herrera, Public Radio International
  • Kiliii Yüyan, National Geographic


About NAJA and the Education Pathways

NAJA serves and empowers Indigenous journalists through programs and actions designed to enrich media and promote Native American cultures.

The NAJA Education Committee created NAJA Education Pathways to support Indigenous students pursuing media careers. From initial participation in the fellowship to returning as a mentor and future leader of the organization, NAJA aims to foster professional development for members at every level of their career.

Thanks to the support from sponsors and sustaining members, all student travel expenses including airfare, food and accommodations are covered by NAJA for the newsroom immersion experience.

For more information about the fellowship or the National Native Media Conference, please contact NAJA at

The Indigenous Journalist Association Empowers Indigenous Voices in Journalism.
IJA © 2023 All rights reserved.