NAJA elects three new board members and selects 2019-2020 Executive Committee

Tristan Ahtone elected to second term as president; Lenzy Krehbiel-Burton elected as vice-president

PRIOR LAKE, Minnesota — Members of the Native American Journalists Association elected Tripp Crouse (Lac Courte Oreille Band of Lake Superior Chippewa), Avis Little Eagle (Standing Rock Sioux) and Christine Trudeau (Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation) to the NAJA Board of Directors. 

Election results were announced Sept. 18 during the 2019 National Native Media Awards Banquet in coordination with the annual conference in Prior Lake, Minnesota. 

The board also elected 2019-2020 officers during the first meeting with new members in attendance on Sept. 18. Tristan Ahtone, Lenzy Krehbiel-Burton, Francine Compton and Graham Lee Brewer were all unanimously elected to positions on the executive committee. 

  • Tristan Ahtone (Kiowa), President
  • Lenzy Krehbiel-Burton (Cherokee), Vice President
  • Francine Compton (Sandy Bay Ojibway First Nation), Treasurer
  • Graham Lee Brewer (Cherokee), Secretary

Shyanne Beatty, Brewer, and Compton will remain seated for the duration of their terms.

Frank Blanquet (Maya) was also appointed to the vacant seat resigned by Jacqueline Keeler. 

Blanquet, an award-winning producer and director at First Nations Experience | FNX, will finish the final year of that term.

For more information, visit

The Indigenous Journalist Association Empowers Indigenous Voices in Journalism.
IJA © 2023 All rights reserved.