NAJA members elect board members; board selects executive committee

Francine Compton was elected to first term as president; Lenzy Krehbiel-Burton elected as vice-president for second term. 

Members of the Native American Journalists Association elected Graham Lee Brewer (Cherokee Nation), Jourdan Bennett-Begaye (Diné), and Pauly Denetclaw (Diné) to the NAJA Board of Directors. 

NAJA members elected Graham Lee Brewer (left), Jourdan Bennett-Begaye (right, above), and Pauly Denetclaw (right, below) to the NAJA Board of Directors. 

The election was held exclusively online, and voting members were able to cast ballots until Sept. 10. A live online candidates forum via Zoom on Aug. 25 allowed candidates to introduce themselves, present their platforms, and respond to questions from the audience. Election results were first reviewed by the NAJA board election committee and a representative from League of Women Voters, then submitted to the full board for review and certification. 

The board also elected 2020-2021 officers during the special meeting with members-elect in attendance. Francine Compton, Lenzy Krehbiel-Burton, Christine Trudeau and Graham Lee Brewer were all unanimously selected to positions on the executive committee. 

  • Francine Compton (Sandy Bay Ojibway First Nation), president
  • Lenzy Krehbiel-Burton (Cherokee Nation), vice president
  • Christine Trudeau (Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation), treasurer
  • Graham Lee Brewer (Cherokee Nation), secretary

Tristan Ahtone, Avis Little Eagle and Tripp Crouse will remain seated for the duration of their terms.

The terms of the election are determined by the Native American Journalists Association bylaws, and can be found under Article VII, and the Board Guidelines Manual found on