NAJA to host virtual roundtable and Q&A with cast and executive producers of ‘Dark Winds’ June 7

Television series to debut June 12 on AMC and AMC+

The Native American Journalists Association (NAJA) will host a webinar and Q&A with the executive producers and cast members of ‘Dark Winds’ TV series via Zoom on Tuesday, June 7 at 1 p.m., CT / 2 p.m. Eastern. 

The roundtable discussion will provide NAJA members an exclusive opportunity to learn about the new psychological thriller, Dark Winds. The production was shot on the tribal lands of Tesuque and Cochiti Pueblo in New Mexico and had a cast and crew that were a majority Native American. 

Creators and executive producers Graham Roland (Chickasaw), Chris Eyre (Cheyenne/Arapaho) and lead actors Zahn McClarnon (Hunkpapa – Lakota), Kiowa Gordon (Hualapai), and Jessica Matten (Red-River Metis Cree) will share their experience of representing Indigenous culture, customs, and stories in the new AMC+ series.

Indian Country Today Editor Jourdan Bennett-Begaye (Diné) will moderate the Q&A.

NAJA members must register in advance to attend the roundtable here. After registering, attendees will receive a confirmation email with information about how to join the Zoom. 

Dark Winds Series Synopsis
Based on the iconic Leaphorn & Chee book series by Tony Hillerman, Dark Winds is a psychological thriller that follows two Navajo police officers in the 1970s Southwest, as their search for clues in a grisly double murder case forces them to challenge their own spiritual beliefs and come to terms with the trauma of their pasts. Created and executive produced by Graham Roland (Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan, The Returned, Almost Human, Fringe), the series stars Zahn McClarnon (The Son, Westworld, Fargo), who is also an executive producer, Kiowa Gordon (The Red Road, Roswell, New Mexico), and Jessica Matten (Tribal, Burden of Truth). Vince Calandra (Castle Rock, Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan, Sharp Objects) is showrunner and an executive producer. Chris Eyre serves as director and executive producer. Executive producers include  George R.R. Martin, Robert Redford, Anne Hillerman, Tina Elmo and Vince Gerardis. Noah Emmerich and Rainn Wilson guest star in the series. 

An on-demand recording will be available via the NAJA website and YouTube channel.

About NAJA
The Native American Journalists Association serves more than 1,000 members, including media professionals working in tribal, freelance, independent and mainstream news outlets, as well as academia and students covering Indigenous communities and representing tribal nations from across North America.