NAJA announces 2022 Facebook Journalism Project Scholarship recipients

NAJA awards $50,000 in total scholarships to five Indigenous journalism students

OKLAHOMA CITY — The Native American Journalists Association partnered with the Facebook Journalism Project to establish the NAJA Facebook Journalism Project Scholarship in 2018 to support quality journalism that strengthens and connects communities. For the 2022-2023 school year, NAJA will award five scholarships of $10,000 each to Indigenous students pursuing careers in media.

Introducing the 2022 NAJA-Facebook Journalism Scholarship recipients!

Shondiin Silversmith (Diné)
Arizona State University
Lyric Aquino (Tewa)
New York University
Grace Benally (Diné)
Arizona State University
Sierra Alvarez (Diné)
Arizona State University
Carrie Johnson (Chickasaw and Pawnee)
Austin College

The 2022 NAJA-Facebook Scholarship recipients were announced via livestream on the NAJA Facebook page co-hosted by NAJA Education Committee Chairwoman Jourdan Bennett-Begaye and NAJA Education Manager Sheena Roetman on Thursday, July 21 at 1 p.m. CDT. 

NAJA will award a total of $250,000 in scholarships through the Facebook Journalism Project. 

Scholarships are one way NAJA supports Indigenous journalism at every stage of members’ careers. NAJA student members can also apply for the annual Native American Journalism Fellowship, NBC News Summer Fellowship, NAJA-NYU Journalism Scholarship and other training opportunities throughout the year.