NAJA announces 2023 Native American Journalism Fellows

The Native American Journalists Association selects Indigenous fellows for virtual curriculum, conference attendance

NORMAN, Okla. – The Native American Journalists Association has selected seven students for the Native American Journalism Fellowship (NAJF) class of 2023. 

The 2023 class of fellows will participate in a virtual curriculum with selected mentors representing broadcast, radio, print and digital media. This innovative experience will be designed to leverage the advantages of a digital newsroom while allowing fellows to strengthen reporting skills, pitch stories to news outlets, participate in the National Native Media Conference, and network with other Indigenous journalists.

Introducing the NAJF Class of 2023!

Jordana Bass
Los Angeles Film School

Aspen Ford
United Keetowah Band of Cherokee Indians
Arizona State University

Christina Gervais
Wood Mountain Lakota First Nation
First Nations University of Canada

Crystal Greene
Anishinaabe and Cree
University of King’s College

Raven Marshall
Rosebud Sioux Tribe and Yankton Sioux Tribe
Berkeley City College/Cal Poly Humboldt

Kadin Mills
Keweenaw Bay Ojibwe
Northwestern University

Aislin Tweed
Nakoda (Fort Belknap)
University of Montana


Meghanlata Gupta
Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians

Carrie Johnson


  • Frank Blanquet, Maya, FNX | First Nations Experience
  • Pauly Denetclaw, Diné, ICT
  • Joseph Lee, Aquinnah Wampanoag, Grist
  • Adreanna Rodriguez, Lakota/Chicana, Vice
  • Shondiin Silversmith, Navajo, Arizona Mirror
  • Taylar Stagner, Arapaho and Shoshone, High Country News
  • Christine Trudeau, Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation, University of Montana
The Indigenous Journalist Association Empowers Indigenous Voices in Journalism.
IJA © 2023 All rights reserved.